T20 cricket final thriller

PADTHAWAY staged a remarkable comeback to win a thrilling Naracoorte Twenty20 cricket grand final on December 21.

In wet conditions which threatened to wash out the match, Kybybolite batted first and set a competitive score of 6/132. Opener Lee Curnow belted five fours and a six in his quick 34 - also being dropped four times and caught off a no ball - while others to contribute included Daniel Giersch (25), Miles Pfitzner (21) and Rowan Werchiwski (17).

In reply, Padthaway got away to a flier through openers Cam Williams (28) and Brendon Emms, but the introduction of Matt Heinrich to the bowling crease swung the game. He took 3/2 from his compulsory two overs and Kyby captured a couple of other wickets and suddenly they were the hot favourites with Padthaway slumping to 7/70.

Riley McCullum (35) got them back in the game with some clever hitting, but they still needed 42 runs off the last four overs to win.

Sam Edwards then stepped up and smashed a quickfire unbeaten 31 and with the support of Ethan Vogelsang (5 not out), they pulled off the great escape and hit the winning runs with a couple of balls to spare.

It was an excellent result for the Lions, who are back in the competition after several years of not having a side.

The 40-over competition will resume on Saturday, January 11.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide