MacKillop votes

THE polling booths are closed, and now the wait is on...

Voters in the electorate of MacKillop have made their choice and counting will continue into the night as both Premier Jay Weatherill and Liberal Opposition leader Steven Marshall anxiously await the announcement about which will be the new Premier.

MacKillop voters chose from five candidates (in order as they appeared on the ballot: Steve Davies (independent), Mitch Williams (Liberal), Donella Peters (Greens), Terry Soulmatis (ALP), Bill Pomery (Family First).

The electorate was initially created in 1851 but was known as Victoria until being renamed MacKillop after a redistribution in 1991. It was named after Blessed Mary MacKillop (1842-1909) who with Fr Julian Tenison Woods founded the Sisters of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart in Penola in 1866. 

The electorate covers an area of about 24,267.1km, encompassing the SE and some of the Murraylands area of the State.

There have been two sitting Members for MacKillop: Dale Baker (Liberals) and the incumbent Mitch Williams (first as an independent Liberal and then a member of the Liberal Party).

In the 2010 election Mr Williams received 60.9 per cent of the vote (70.1 per cent after preferences) to easily retain the seat, gaining popularity from the 2006 election with a 2.1 per cent swing in his favour.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide