KNTFL football medal count 2014

PENOLA midfielder Ben McIntyre stormed home to claim the Virgo/Mail Medal at Wednesday night's KNTFL medal count.

McIntyre polled 27 votes to finish a clear winner ahead of Kaniva/Leeor United's Dylan Williams, who took home the Ralph Edwards medal for runner-up with 20 votes.

Grady Obst (Mundulla), who was earlier in the night named KNTFL footballer of the year ahead of McIntyre, finished third in the medal count on 18 votes.

Williams was the leader throughout the count after McIntyre had a slow start, leading with 11 votes after round six and then with 17 after round 12.

But from then on it was all McIntyre as he reeled Williams in and then burst ahead with a standout end to the year, including best on ground in the last two matches to put the issue beyond doubt.

Visit the Herald's live update article from last night to see some of the other winners from throughout the night.