Padthaway FC flashback | 1993 premiership

With Padthaway Football Club celebrating its 50th anniversary this weekend, we take a look back at one of the club’s finest hours – its first A grade premiership in 1993.

Padthaway took out the first premiership of the newly formed KNTFL – a merger of the Kowree-Naracoorte Football League and Tatiara Football League.

This is how the Herald covered the momentous win, with the drought-breaking Lions team featuring names like Lester Ross, Steve Sims, Craig Binder, Brad McElroy, Paul Salmon, Richard Parkin, Tim Leehane, Gary and Jack James.

On grand final day, they defeated a Bordertown side which had dominated the former Tatiara league and included names such as Hank Budel, Jeff Hunter, David McCarthy, Wayne Tink, Andy Jarrett, Adrian Hayes and the late Scott McFarlane.

Come back to the Herald website this weekend for photos from Padthaway’s big 50th celebration day on Saturday.