Naracoorte RSL Bowls Club's pennant season underway

TOURNAMENT WINNERS: Doug McPhail (left), Ian "Fred" Gould and Glenn Wright with Naracoorte RSL Bowling Club's Steve Mark.
TOURNAMENT WINNERS: Doug McPhail (left), Ian "Fred" Gould and Glenn Wright with Naracoorte RSL Bowling Club's Steve Mark.

It was an exciting first round of the 2017/18 Open Pennants Bowls Season for Naracoorte RSL.

Division four came off with a win due to Kalangadoo forfeiting.

Division one replayed last year’s grand final where it came down to the last bowl being played, by team captain John Buckley, for the win against Mount Gambier Blue.

Steve Mark (s), Geoff Hurn, Bruce Brodie and Corey Zeuner didn’t put a score on the board until the ninth end, and at afternoon tea break were down by 12 shots.

David O’Shaughnessy (s), Greg Mark, Ryan O’Shaughnessy and Lindy Mark were having a great tussle and were up by four shots by afternoon tea.

John Buckley (s), Joe McGrath, Darren North and Darren Male were also having a close game, but were down by 3 shots at afternoon tea.

Making the whole team down overall by 11 shots at half time break. Our game lifted in the second half.

Steve’s team holding tight, going down by 10 shots on the last. Naracoorte RSL 21 – Mountt Gambier Blue 31.

David’s team increased their lead, winning by 10 shots. Naracoorte RSL 31 – Mountt Gambier Blue 21.

John’s team played a steady second half and by the 24 th end had tied the scoreboards. On the last end we were down in the head.

John Buckley had the last bowl, he needed to move the jack to win the game, and that is exactly what he did to win by 2 shots! Naracoorte RSL 24 – Mount Gambier Blue 22.

Final scores Naracoorte RSL 76 shots, 14 points defeated Mountt Gambier Blue 74 shots, two points.

On Sunday, October 1 Naracoorte RSL Bowling Club held its first tournament for the season.

The game consisted of two bowl triples with 10 teams competing, playing four games of 10 ends with playoffs deciding the eventual winners and runners up.

Winners of the day were Glen Wright, Doug McPhail and Ian “Fred” Gould from Mount Gambier RSL. 

The team coming in second was made of Phil Dowdell, Peter Delaney and Bryan Roper from Millicent.

A combined team of Rick Pitt (Penola), Ian Williams and our own Jon Buckly came third.

Fourth placed was the Naracoorte team of Graham East, Jeff East and Rex Measday. 

A big thank you to the sponsors of the day Top Mark Machinery.