The gates of Naracoorte High School are currently receiving a much needed facelift and will be officially opened on Sunday March 18th.
The construction has not changed since its erection in September 1955, over 63 years ago. The original gates were built by Mr. C. Pomery & Son of Naracoorte.
Named the “DeGaris Memorial Gates”, Mr. A.C. DeGaris, who was presiding as Chairman of the High School Council from 1944-1957, presented the gates to the School in honour of his son Lewis, an old scholar who was killed in action during World War II in Iceland.
The new structure has been designed by architect Brett Julian, who utilised locally sourced Wrattonbully stonework. The original gates will be inserted into the new erection between the stone plinths.
Father Wayne Corker will officiate the ceremony which will commence at 1.30pm and Mr. Bob DeGaris, who is 90 years young, and his family will be attending the celebration to regale their stories and provide a showcase of their family history.