Devils out of Naracoorte cricket association

Naracoorte Cricket Association is back to six teams with the Devils team pulling out last weekend three rounds into the season.

Devils had struggled to field full sides of 11 in the first two rounds, but on Saturday the association was forced to take action when no Devils players arrived at IB Edwards Oval to host a home game against Lucindale.

The association received a message the following day that Devils intended to withdraw from the competition.

The withdrawal has been confirmed by the association this week, taking the number of teams from seven to six and meaning the season draw has been altered. The results from matches in the first three rounds not involving Devils will stand.

Devils joined the competition in 2012-13. It’s not known at this stage if they will attempt to rejoin the association next season.

ROUND 3. The strong teams Townies and Warriors won the two Naracoorte cricket matches on Saturday.

At Wortley Oval, Townies batted first and racked up an impressive score of 4/190 from their 40 overs.

Matt Smith guided the innings with a solid knock of 93, well supported in good partnerships with brother Jake Smith (19) and Brad Redding (39). The Apsley bowlers stuck at the task well with Will McEvoy taking 2/23 and Matt Treglown only going for 12 runs from five overs.

The Apsley top order put their heads down in the run chase with McEvoy (35) and Treglown (39 not out) both putting a high price on their wicket, while youngsters Harrison Turner and Aaron Trowbridge also spent time at the crease in a team total of 4/124 from 40 overs.

All of the Townies bowlers had success to some degree, with Sam Henschke and Brodie Foster taking 2/45 between them from 15 overs.

Padthaway batted first at home against Wortley Warriors and got away to a great start to be 1/75 until the Warriors started claiming regular wickets.

Andrew Stevens (62), Riley McCallum (27), Jarryd Dolling (27) and Dillon Ingenito (24) all got a start in a team total of 166. Luke Munro claimed 3/37 for Warriors and Josh Bull, Dylan Donoghue and Paul Schroder all took two wickets.

Warriors batted soundly to successfully chase down the winning total, with Loren Bald (46) and Will Walker (28) setting a good foundation. Munro then stepped up in a man of the match performance to hit 68 not out and guide his team over the line, with a handy 23 from Bull also aiding the cause.

Opening bowlers Andrew Stevens and Lachie Crisp bowled tightly to concede only 38 runs off their combined 15 overs and Dolling also bowled well for 1/25 from eight, but Warriors were too good with the bat.

Kybybolite had the bye.

This Saturday, the draw has altered after the withdrawal of Devils and teams will play a double round of T20 matches.

Draw: 1pm – Kyby v Lucindale (IB Edwards Oval), Townies v Padthaway (Wortley Oval); 4.30pm – Kyby v Padthaway (IB Edwards), Townies v Lucindale (Wortley).

Bowl: Dylan Donoghue sends one down for Wortley Warriors.

Bowl: Dylan Donoghue sends one down for Wortley Warriors.