Strong showing from local schools in Lions Mad Minute Finals 2019

Naracoorte South Primary, with a team comprised of Max Crossling, Maggie McLean and Jack Barker, have taken out the Division One Prize in the Lions Mad Minute Upper Limestone Coast Grand Challenge Final held on Wednesday June 26 at the Lucindale Soldiers Memorial Hall.

Grace McCarthy and Tia Latus, who come from the Mary MacKillop Memorial School, also took out the second prize and third prize respectively for best speaker overall.

The other school teams from the region are below:

Frances Primary

  • Will Pfitzner
  • Matthew Bird
  • Evie Koch

Lucindale Area School

  • Lily Wilkin
  • Emma Pinchbeck
  • Hannah Kiefel

Sunrise Christian School

  • Zara James
  • Adonya Holmes
  • Isabel Teate

Padthaway Primary

  • Ned Ward
  • Harry Bell
  • Lachlan Hayes

Naracoorte Primary

  • Oliver Wardle
  • Joey Ottoson-Crossling
  • Logan Brodie

Penola Primary

  • Bodhi Lear
  • Louise Standley
  • Ethan Vearing

Mary MacKillop Memorial

  • Grace McCarthy
  • Ollie Braun
  • Tia Latus

The Lions Mad Minute is an initiative of the Mount Gambier Lions Club, with support from the Gambier City, Naracoorte, Robe, Beachport-Rivoli Bay, Lucindale, Penola, Millicent, and Kingston Lions.

They are also supported by local chapters of Soroptimists International.

The Lions would like to thank all of the staff and students who support the Mad Minute. The structured impromptu speaking competition is designed to encourage confidence in Year Five students.