KNT players in Murray SE team

Six KNTFL players have been selected in the Murray South East Zone team that will compete at the South Australian Country Championships at the Memorial Oval Sports Precinct in Port Pirie on July 13-14.

The newly developed Memorial Oval Sports Precinct will host a number of firsts for the Country Championships, with the SANFL Showdown between the Adelaide Crows and Port Adelaide Magpies taking place on Saturday afternoon.

The Murray South East Zone selects players from the Kowree-Naracoorte-Tatiara Football League, Mid South Eastern Football League, River Murray Football League and Western Border Football League.

Each zone competing in the championships nominates a playing squad of 25 players. A minimum of four players from the Murray South East Zone must be under 21 years as at January 1, 2019.

The coach of the team is Adam Merrett (KNTFL), assistant coaches Scott Prebble (RMFL), Jack Kelly (MSEFL) and Steve Duldig (WBFL) and they have been helped with the selection of the squad by Scott Duncan, Kelvin Farnham (RMFL) and Peter Mitchell (MSEFL).

Murray South East's first qualifying match is against Eyre Peninsula on Saturday, 12.30pm at Memorial Oval.

Players selected from the KNTFL are:

Bordertown: Reagan Tink (Under 21)

Penola: Scott Merrett (vice-captain), Brad Bryant and Simon Berkefeld

Kybybolite: Matt Tonkin

Kaniva-Leeor United: Alex Brown