Help put our towns on top in Ag Town of the Year award

Help put our towns on top in Ag Town of the Year award

Voting is open for the 2020 Ag Town of The Year and both Lucindale and Naracoorte are in the running.

Seventy towns across South Australia have been nominated for the 2020 Ag Town of the Year award with public voting for the finalists now open.

Naracoorte Lucindale Council Mayor Erika Vickery urged locals to get their votes in and help put our towns on top.

"Let's show our community pride in our towns and get online and vote for our towns,' she said.

"It is lovely to see both Naracoorte and Lucindale are in, and they were nominated by community people, so let's get behind those people and our towns."

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development David Basham encouraged South Australians to get involved and back their choice for Agricultural Town of the Year.

"Due to the COVID-19 restrictions we have moved the AgTown of the Year award to later in the year but it is pleasing to see 70 towns nominated," said Minister Basham.

"Through the challenges of 2020, we have seen the importance of agriculture and its ability to keep the economy moving.

"Regional communities play a key role in agriculture and this year's award will no doubt unearth stories of resilience, community spirit and determination.

"I would encourage all South Australians to go online and vote for your favourite AgTown in this much anticipated competition.

"With 70 towns nominated, up from 43 last year, picking a winner is expected to be a very challenging task."

Based on both the public and the independent judging panel's votes, the shortlisted top five towns will be asked to provide responses to the remaining entry questions and an itinerary ahead of a regional visit by the judging panel in January 2021.

The 2020 Agricultural Town of the Year will be announced in February 2021 with a community event to be held in April 2021 to celebrate the achievement.

Cast your vote at

Voting closes Friday 30 October 2020. Voting is limited to one vote per person